The YHS branch was formed out of the AGU Hydrology Section Student Subcommittee (H3S). The information below is an excerpt from the H3S 2015 Charter.

The Hydrology Section Student Subcommittee (H3S) of the American Geophysical Union serves and represents all student members of the organization whose research interests contain a hydrological component. Committee members are dedicated to fostering dialogue between current and future generations of hydrologists, which we achieve by organizing activities at AGU Meetings and online.

The committee currently comprises seven students elected by members from the previous year. Each member serves a minimum of one calendar year (Feb-Jan), up to two years. Meetings are held once every month and are led by the committee chair. This member is the spokesperson for the committee and has veto/tiebreaker rights over group decisions. The committee co-chair is first substitute in the chair’s absence, and this person also assumes leadership as chair the following year. The secretary is responsible for committee organization, meeting minutes, and email inquiries. Subcommittees are organized according to committee goals and activities, which are outlined at the beginning of the year.

Activities & themes
We strive to provide student members with opportunities to grow technically and socially within the broader geosciences community, an effort we have structured around the following events and themes:

1. Student Conference at the AGU Fall Meeting – We will offer technical activities during the 2015 Student Conference to introduce students to emergent remote sensing and field instrumentation technologies. Further information (e.g. upcoming workshop opportunities, online resources, etc.) will be broadcast to students via social media.

2. Pop-Up Sessions – Since the 2013 Fall Meeting the Pop-Ups sessions have provided a platform for early career scientists to share their vision for the future of the water sciences. Due to the success of this event, we are offering a second, special topic Pop-Ups session at the 2015 Fall Meeting.

3. Joint Assembly Early Career Hydrologist Night – The H3S will expand to other AGU-sponsored meetings in 2015. We will organize the first Early Career Hydrologist Night at this year’s Joint Assembly meeting, which will be a full-evening program.

4. Gender and Racial Equality – We are committed to fostering a safe and open environment for members of the geosciences. At this year’s Fall Meeting we will provide opportunities for all AGU members to discuss successes and challenges to enhancing diversity. These activities will take place during both the Student Conference and a newly-created Pop-Up session addressing the social dimensions of the geosciences.

5. Fostering Broad Thinking – We plan to stimulate creative, forward thinking at the 2015 Fall Meeting by organizing (1) Pop-Up sessions where students present new or non-traditional research ideas and (2) a Meet the Expert session, during which students and established scientists will discuss a multidisciplinary research theme.

6. Social Media and Communication with Hydrology Community – We will increase committee presence on traditional social media platforms to stimulate discussion and broaden access to available resources, which includes Facebook, Twitter, and the Young Hydrologic Society website (youngHS.com). A twitter account (@AGU_H3S) will be used to increase online presence of the subcommittee. Regular interviews with early career hydrologists will be published on the AGU Water Facebook page. Lastly, the H3S is working together with Young Hydrologic Society to archive all recorded Pop-Up presentations.

7. H3S Member Selection Procedure – The H3S aims to represent all AGU hydrology early career members, and all are welcome to apply for a committee position. For that reason we will introduce a new application process for member selection. The new application will increase transparency and ensure gender, racial and geographical equality in the selection process.

Organizing committee YHS-AGU

Evan Kipnis (Chair), University of Utah
Niels Claes (Co-Chair), University of Wyoming
Sheila Saia, Cornell University
Natasha Krell, Princeton University
Kevin Roche, Northwestern University
Adam Wlostowski, University of Colorado at Boulder
Harsh Beria, Indian Institute of Technology at Kharagpur
Vanessa Garayburu Caruso, University of New Mexico
Allison Goodwell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Chelsea Morris, Cornell University
Emily Voytek, Colorado School of Mines